DMV Practice Permit Test VA - Virginia Road Rules 3

You may be charged with reckless driving if you travel at what speed above the posted limit?

Question 1 of 25

If you encounter an aggressive driver, what should you do?

Question 2 of 25

If the dividing line on a road nearest you is a solid yellow line with a broken yellow line to the further side of it, what does that mean?

Question 3 of 25

At what times of day should you be particularly alert for deer on the road?

Question 4 of 25

Your stopping distance is determined by a combination of what?

Question 5 of 25

What percentage of traffic crashes in Virginia are caused by distracted drivers?

Question 6 of 25

The only reason it is permissible not to stop for a school bus loading or unloading passengers is…?

Question 7 of 25

If an emergency vehicle with siren and/or flashing lights is approaching from the opposite direction on an undivided highway, what must you do?

Question 8 of 25

You must always turn on your headlights between…?

Question 9 of 25

What is the maximum speed limit in Virginia on paved roads outside school, business and residential areas?

Question 10 of 25

When driving in the city, an expert driver will be scanning the road for what distance ahead?

Question 11 of 25

Parking facing uphill or downhill on roads without curbs, how should you set your front wheels?

Question 12 of 25

Which of these alcoholic drinks contains the most alcohol?

Question 13 of 25

When traveling between 46 and 70 mph, you should leave at least what following distance to the vehicle in front?

Question 14 of 25

Which of these is the only way to prevent drowsy driving?

Question 15 of 25

Virginia law prohibits the use of cell phones or otherwise communication devices while driving except in an emergency for all drivers under the age of…?

Question 16 of 25

All passengers in a vehicle must be secured with safety belts, booster seats, or child safety seats if they are below the age of…?

Question 17 of 25

When it is raining, roads are most likely to be slippery…?

Question 18 of 25

If a person is injured in a crash, you should not move them unless…?

Question 19 of 25

If a curb is painted yellow, what does this mean?

Question 20 of 25

You must always switch to low beam headlights when you get within what distance of an approaching vehicle?

Question 21 of 25

It is unlawful and unsafe to make passing maneuvers on two-way two-lane highways in which of these areas?

Question 22 of 25

Drivers over the age of 21 are considered to be driving under the influence with a blood alcohol content of…?

Question 23 of 25

You must not park within what distance of a fire hydrant?

Question 24 of 25

A driver with their left hand and arm pointing downward is indicating what?

Question 25 of 25



Virginia DMV Permit Test – An Overview

Anyone operating a motor vehicle or motor-driven cycle on public streets or highways in Virginia must have a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit. He or she must take the VA DMV permit test. DMV stands for Driving Motor Vehicle Permit. A vision test is required for all drivers. The VA MVC written exam consists of 50 questions, and you must earn at least 40 correct answers to pass with an 80 percent score. Use different sample tests available online to familiarise yourself with the format of the Virginia driver’s license exam.


In Virginia, do you need to schedule a permit exam?

Written driving examinations, often known as driver knowledge exams, are available to all drivers, including commercial drivers, by appointment only.


How do I get a Virginia driver’s license?

You must go through a vision test with a 2-part written exam to obtain a Virginia learner’s permit. Those under the age of 18 must have a permit for at least nine months. For ages of over 18, you can have your driver’s license for a minimum of 90 days before applying for one. Prepare for the written exam; if you pass, you will receive your learner’s permit. You study for the road test, and if you pass the road test after passing the written exam, you are eligible for a driver’s license.


The following is a step-by-step guide to getting a Virginia driver’s instruction permit:


Student permit

DMV Practice Permit Test VA There are two types of learner’s permits in Virginia: For 16-year-old drivers, the “Student Learner’s Permit” is required. For 17-year-old drivers, the DMV Examination Permit is required. Each permit comes with its own set of limitations and is only good for two years.

DMV Student Learner’s Permit holders must always be accompanied by a driver who is at least 21 years old and has at least three years of driving experience. This permission does not allow drivers to drive after 11 p.m. or before 5 a.m. No more than one guest may ride with the student driver unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. The learner must hold this learning permit for at least 6 months before going on to the next level.

After turning 17 and having had the “Student Learner’s Permit” for at least six months, the driver can apply for the Examination Learner’s Permit. This permit can be overlooked until 17-year-old will not take up Student Learner’s Permit. For an application for the VA driving permit, the motorist must pass a written exam. This permission is good for two years and must be kept for at least six months before moving on to the next level. This Examination Learner’s Permit is subject to the same supervision and curfew restrictions as the Student Learner’s Permit.


Documents that must be produced

When taking the written exam for a DMV permit, a driver must bring the following documents to the MVC:

  • A primary form of identities, such as a passport or a birth certificate
  • Proof of enrollment in a driver’s education course is necessary only for the Student Learner’s Permit.
  • A signed consent document from a legal guardian, which is only for the Student Learner’s Permit.
  • They must additionally pay a $10 permit fee.


How Should I Prepare for the Exam?

You can prepare for the test by reading the VA Driver Manual.


The instruction handbook for the driver

You’ll need a copy of the VA Driver Manual to pass your written driver’s test in Virginia. This book will teach you all you need to know about driving safely and responsibly. It covers a variety of topics, including your driving responsibilities, traffic laws, parking restrictions, signage, and guidelines. Keep in mind that all of the questions on the test come from this manual. If you want to do well, this manual will become an important part of your preparation.

It is accessible in PDF format, so you may download it. This is a far better option than going to the MVC and picking up a printed copy. The guide can also be read on other devices like your e-reader, smartphone, or tablet. You’ll be able to access it from wherever, and you can always use more study time.

What is the procedure for taking the exam?

Using the six points on your ID, purchase an examination permit at a driver testing center.

Set up a knowledge test

After purchasing an examination permit, a knowledge test appointment must be scheduled.

In a foreign language, there are a variety of options

Written tests are accessible in the following languages: English, Japanese Mandarin, Chinese, Spanish, Korean, French, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, and Arabic. Both English and Spanish are accessible for oral exams.

If the knowledge test is not available in your original language, you may hire a state-approved translation; however, you must first attempt to complete the knowledge test in one of the available languages.

Passing the examination

Any MVC driving testing center in Virginia can administer the Virginia learner’s permit exam. It consists of 50 questions, with the driver having to correctly answer 80 percent of them to pass. The exam covers all state-specific traffic rules, road signs, and other driver-safety material. The Virginia Driver’s Manual has all of the information you’ll need to pass the test. Before taking the exam, the state offers an online practice test to help students acquire additional practice and confidence.

All drivers must pass a vision test along with fee payment and passing the exam before getting a learner’s permit.

How long does the permit test take in Virginia?

The permit exam lasts between 15 and 20 minutes. Because it has the same amount of questions like the real permit test, this VA adult permit test quiz can take up to 15 to 20 minutes to complete.

Is it possible to receive a driver’s license in Virginia at the age of 18 without a permit?

You can receive your basic driver’s license if you are at least 18 years old and have practiced driving without supervision for one year.

What questions will be asked on the Virginia permit test?

The information about the DMV written test comes from the Virginia Driver’s Manual for 2021. The first section of the test will consist of ten questions about traffic signs, and you must properly answer all ten before moving on to the second segment. The second half will address topics such as traffic rules, safe driving strategies, and drug restrictions. To pass the second section, you simply need to answer 80 percent of the questions correctly. If you’re under the age of 18, you’ll have to wait a full 15 days to repeat the test, so study and use our DMV practice test to help you succeed.



The Virginia DMV permit test has a written knowledge test that will be based on the contents of the Virginia Driver’s Manual and will cover Virginia traffic laws, road rules, road signs, and safe driving practices.