Texas Permit Test - Texas Road Rules 1
Everything You Need to Know About Texas Permit Test
The official driving permit test in Texas requires an 80% passing score. This test contains 40 questions, and the applicant has to give at least 32 correct answers. Texas recently has the GDL or Graduation Driver License program, so if you are under 18 you must get the learner license. After this get a provisional license which will valid till you are 18 years old. A learner license is for the ages between 15 to 18. To avail of one, you have to pass the vision test, a non-driving education course, and a written exam.
All applicants for this test must be made in person at the driver’s license department. You have to complete the application form, provide correct documentation, residency and identity proof, documents on insurance and registration of your vehicle, and the fees. As an applicant, you have to pass the written, driving, and vision test. After that, your driver’s license will be issued. Let’s know more about this permit test.
To get a full-fledged driving license in Texas, you must be 18 years old. If you are under 18 then you have to go through the Texas graduation system and get the provisional license for minors. You can get the initial license at the age of 15 and can gradually move up to the graduated one after 6 months of getting the permit.
Documents and required for Application:
The required documents for the texas permit test are broken into three categories, primary, secondary, and supporting documents. To apply for the written test, you will require the primary documents or two items from the secondary identity category. You can also provide one from the secondary section and two from the supportive category.
Primary identity proofs will include a Texas ID or an American Indian card, US passport, citizenship certification. The secondary section consists certified or original copy of your birth certificate. Supporting identity documents include selective service cards, social security, military or school records card, immunization proof, a voter registration card, a marriage or divorce license, and W-2 or 1099 license.
If your age is under 25 you have to complete the driver’s education course. You will get various options to complete it, and this includes public school education, a driver training school, or parent-taught driver’s lessons. For the applicants under 18, they should be given at least 32 hours of behind-the-wheel training. However, adult drivers require only 6 hours with no behind-the-wheel requirements.
The cost of the Texas driving test:
If you are applying for the instruction permit, then the fee will be $15. For the applicants of a full-fledged Texas driver’s license, the fee will be $24. These fees will allow you three attempts to pass the test in 90 days. You can opt for the test at any driver’s license office in Texas. After the written exam, you have to take an appointment for the driving test.
The written driver’s exam information:
Before you hit the roads in Texas, you have to pass the Texas written driving test for new drivers. You have to be fully prepared for the written exam, which will cover the penalties, road signs, and driving laws. Other than this the applicant must pass the behind-the-wheel exam with the vision test to get the license.
You will find the course information in the Texas driver’s handbook. In here you will find information on road signs, driving situations, and rules of roads. You will get several courses to know more about the test. With this, you won’t have to travel to the local DPS office. After you complete the test, you will get an option to print the certificate, and this will be required when you apply for the Texas learner’s permit exam.
- Texas written test for expired driver’s license: If your Texas driver’s license expired, then to renew it, you have to sit for another written test. There are no other ways to get a renewed license in Texas. You have to visit the DPS office and apply for the test to re-issue the valid license. For this age will not matter, it can be 24 to 63 years old for the license to expire.
Types of questions at the written test:
There will be 40 multiple choice questions regarding the road rules and traffic signs. You can read about it from the Texas Driver’s Handbook. If you go through the book, you can answer the questions. To pass the test, you have to give correct answers to at least 32 of them. You will get questions like,
- While driving how to prevent highway hypnosis
- In case of a flat tire on the road what should be your steps
- What a pennant-shaped sign indicates and so on.
The difficulty level of the Texas written driving test:
If you put more effort into the studies, you will get a better result. If you previously take a training course at a school, then you will be well-prepared for the final test. If you have decided to read only the handbook then you have to memorize the instructions and other material from the books before you opt for the test.
There are some important things you have to keep in mind while taking the written test. There will be no trick question, if you read the handbook thoroughly, you can give answers easily. As you already know that there will be 40 questions with multiple choice options, and you have to select the correct answer. Also, the answers are not tricky, you have to use your common sense. Although the other answers may seem probable, you have to choose the right one. Or you can start by eliminating the wrong answers. You have to think about the question by putting yourself in that position, and then determine the right thing to do.
Texas drivers online test:
Taking the written texas permit test online is the most convenient option. If you enroll with a training school before the written exam, you will be trained for 6 hours. Once you complete the same, you will get three attempts to pass a written test. Also, online you won’t have to take the test at the DPS office. You can opt for the exam from your home.
It’s best to read the Texas drivers handbook thoroughly and use your common sense while choosing the answers. If you need more help, you can always join a driver’s training school in Texas.